Skip to main content

cso30 awards

22 November 2023  |  Crown Sydney


subpage hero



Australia’s CSO30 Awards represents a terrific opportunity to create significant brand awareness and thought leadership among influential cyber security executives. This list is open to the top cyber security leader within an organisation who has overall responsibility and control of the cyber security vision and direction for the company.

The awards program recognises the leading individuals and organisations delivering security projects and initiatives which demonstrate outstanding business value and innovation. Successful CISOs, cyber executives and businesses will help overcome rising threat levels across Australia, tackling ongoing challenges in relation to increasingly sophisticated hackers and cyber talent shortages. In addition to using security as a competitive differentiator, winners will also be acknowledged for assuming leadership positions in advancing the cyber conversation both internally and externally, documenting examples of industry best practice across Australia.

CSO30 will be judged aligned to a uniform set of criteria set by the CSO editorial board focusing on the core pillars of Business Value and Leadership - honouring transformational and inspiring CISOs in Australia. Submissions will be confidentially assessed by a panel of judges comprised of CSO/Foundry personnel, and other leading figures in the wider cyber security community.

Nominations are open now and will close on 11.59pm Monday October 30.

CSO30 Australia award winners 2022

CSO30 2022 Award Winners

1st place: Dan Maslin, GCISO, Monash University

2nd place: Daniela Fernandez, Head of Information Security, PayPal

3rd place: Callum Nelson, Director, Cyber Security (CISO), Australian Red Cross Lifeblood

4th place: Anafrid Bennet, Manager, Information Technology and Security Operations, Greater Western Water

5th place: Scott Sorley, Executive Director ICT Services, University of Southern Queensland

6th place: Marco Figueroa, Senior Manager, Cyber Security Risk and Compliance, Australian Institute of Company Directors

7th place: Michael Marsden, CISO, New South Wales Police Force

8th place: Logan Daley, Cyber and Information Security Manager, Loan Market Group

9th place: Raza Nowrozy, Head of Cyber Security, Untapped Holdings

10th place: Leron Zinatullin, Senior Manager, Ongoing Security Reviews, Westpac

11th place: John O’Driscoll, CISO, Victorian State Government

12th place: Suthagar Seevaratnam, CISO, Australian National University

13th place: Rob Waldron, Chief Technology and Security Officer, Fitness and Lifestyle Group

14th place: Eugene Ostapenko, Head of Information Security Risk and Compliance, illion

15th place: Simona Dimovski, Head of Cyber Security and Technology, Genworth

16th place: Daniel Aldam, Information Security Manager, Keolis Downer 

17th place: Abhishek Singh, CIO, Unicef Australia

18th place: Siddiqua Shaheen, Head of Cyber Governance, Landers & Rodgers

19th place: Christopher Mace, CISO, NSW Public Service Commission

20th place: Nathan Morelli, Head of Cyber Security and IT Resilience, SA Power Networks

21st place: Kevin Tham, CISO, etika

22nd place: Sean Lasinker, CISO, Orica

23rd place: Andrew Wan, CISO, The Smith Family

24th place: Chirag Joshi, Director, Cyber Security Architecture, Consulting and Engagement, NSW Department of Customer Service

25th place: Gavin Ryan, Global Head of Information Security, Navitas

26th place: Doris Tidd, General Manager Information Security, HESTA

27th place: Nicole Neil, Information Security Manager, MessageMedia

28th place: Richard Heron, CISO, Frontier Software

29th place: Abdur Raheem Shaik Dawood, APAC Region Manager (Information Security), The Access Group

30th place: Ben Doyle, CISO, Thales Australia and New Zealand